chadr    328

Pss shaft seal!!! You are the next candidate!!!

I didn't do my own. Had my local dealer install it and it cost about $300 in parts and $600 in labor. Some of the guys did their own. I am not a mechanic though!

Idaho Mike    29

So is the PSS shaft seal unit the way to go (a.k.a "dripless" from my reading), or should I just restuff with new packing? I'm thinking packing for the price, especially since with all the surf/ballast water leaking that ends up in the hull. It's not like my hull is ever dry during boat season.

• Like 1

I as well replaced mine with PSS. You can try re- greasing existing dripless. You will need a grease gun and recommend putting an extension hose on it and the hard part is removing vent screw. I also bought the retaining collar with my PSS ,it helped with install and achieving proper compression on bellows . I think I wrote about it earlier. Make sure to use marine grease if you try to regrease. It is a great feeling not to have water leaking into boat,so it is worth the trouble,expense. Good luck .

Edited by builtforspeed
  • Like 1

chadr    328

So is the PSS shaft seal unit the way to go (a.k.a "dripless" from my reading), or should I just restuff with new packing? I'm thinking packing for the price, especially since with all the surf/ballast water leaking that ends up in the hull. It's not like my hull is ever dry during boat season.

I tried the re-greasing alternative and found that it didn't stop. My bilge would pump out about 10 to 15 seconds every time we changed out riders so I didn't like the thought of a Bilge pump failure making a bigger problem. Also, we went to Lake Powell for a week and when it was sitting, the bilge would turn on about every 5 minutes or so and pump out for about 30 seconds. It was well worth the money spent.

Cdifranco    463

No chance of something like this being covered under warranty? Hoping to avoid this problem my self.

Troy    234

I did my own PSS seal. Defiantly the way to go.