Typhoon08

Went to Big & Tall shop and they did not have any boards!

Typhoon08    5

OK......I have searched the archives and reached out to Bluesman who gave me some good advice. I have never tried surfing before but am going to next year with my kids as we just bought this Centurion and switched over from an I/O.

Me 6'1" 290lbs, son 5'5" and 135lbs (12yo), daughter 5'4' 120lbs (14yo). I know nothing more than what I have researched here. I am sure both kids will stick with it as they have done water sports all their lives and figured I would start with a basic board (liquid force - fish) for them. Seems to be a good value and as basic as basic can get to start them out on and keep long term for when they bring friend to the lake. My daughter is mild mannered and would most likely be happy sticking with that board. My son will most likely outgrow it within first year and then I can search for second board for him.

I on the other hand may or may not stick with it (my wife hates to drive) so will not get much opportunity. So not sure what kind of investment I want to make for myself not knowing if ill get to go very often or at all. I ran across a Hyperlight Landlock locally on craigslist. Says good for 110lbs to 300lbs Could this be true? Is it a possible solution for all 3 of us and a longterm boat board for beginners?

I look forward to your advice and thoughts.

Shaka    146

The Landlock is a slow board but it works for bigger guys. However, you're pretty big and it may not work for you. If I were you I'd get a boat board that everyone can ride firs and then branch off into individual boards for your kids. A good place to start is an Inland Surfer Tako. You can ride it although you will never let go of the rope. Chances are good you will never let go with a Landlock either. If you like it then get your own board. A custom board for big guys would be great as well as something like an Inland Surfer Red Rocket.

WakeDoc    471