Trevor Gleadhill

Fast surf boards for big guys

As many likely know I am new to wake surfing and still dialing in my wave but I was thinking about a fast board. My thought is that a faster board would enable staying in the pocket easier.

I am currently riding a Landlock board which I understand is not the fastest. Would a faster board help? Keep in mind I am 6'2" 250.

Thanks

T

duramat    462

Trev! That board is Fast!! Its also like a battleship in the sense that it's just a cruiser, more for surfin then carvin. I tried Bigcat's last time out and I was constantly trying to brake to slow down. :) I tried a shortie skim style once and I kept falling out behind losing it every time, apparently I dont know how to "work it" ;) IMO

tgaugh    2

Yeah - the Carbon version ain't no faster. Some XL's on the outside till you learn to ride it are plenty fast enough. Get your legs up to speed and later add some more fins on the inside, or try the 9's that they come with.

Got a buddy @ 315 6'6 killin' it on that board.

WakeDoc    471

I would 2nd the Inland Surfer Swallow.

Also if you are willing to have a little longer learning curve I would look at the Inland Surfer Sweet Spot. I am 6' 250lb. and ride it with no problem and know several other big guys that ride it as well.

Thanks Loc, WakeDoc - So is it safe to assume the Swallow is a faster board than the Landlock? Meaning it would achieve my goal of having a fast board to increse easy of staying in the pocket?

T

tgaugh    2

It's gonna be too fast for ya at first, leaving the LandLock for that will be a huge step, not just speed but response/lift/recovery the whole nine.

It's gonna be too fast for ya at first, leaving the LandLock for that will be a huge step, not just speed but response/lift/recovery the whole nine.

...but that sounds like a good thing, once you are use to it.

Sold!

T

duramat    462