Sign in to follow this  
danall705

Should I buy this boat- Please Help

danall705    0

Okay. I am new to the boating world and found a 2006 centurion avalanche, fully loaded with the corba motor, stereo system and 56 hours of operation. The boat is in good shape, its at a dealer but I noticed one thing that makes me nervous. I noticed the upper exhaust bolts have been taken off, the intake manifold looks like there is fresh grey silicon and the cobra symbol on top of the plastic cover is glued on with the same grey silicon, the number 1 sparkplug wire has a piece of red tape on it, the engine oil is brand new. I am concerned the top end has been taken apart on this boat but I am wondering if I should just walk away and keep looking.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. The price is 35000.

Thanks

islander033    2

Take an independant marine mechanic with you on a test drive and see what he has to say about the engine and other mechanical components. Either way something sounds a bit off.

tgaugh    2

Yeah that's tough. Get someone outside the shop to inspect it, if it is minor, make a big deal out of it and lowball them for trying to not disclose the repairs.

WakeDoc    471

Not sure exactly what area you are taking about with the bolts but, it is somewhat common for the exhaust gaskets to be replaced. Have you asked to see the service records? If you look at them and do not see a issue that would explain it, ask them wht was done.

Bottom when in doudt...WALK AWAY...and find the next Great Deal.

jquick    0

it would be great if you can have a mechanic take a look at her, ask for as much previous records, and if you are still interested get extended warranty. ask if the dealer can take you out on the water as well. good luck

Like the others said, if in doubt...walk. There are deals out there right now.

For reference I bought my brand new (left over) 2007 avy for less that the list of your 2006. Check around - there are still deals.

T