Tommywalton1974

Mercruiser 330 impeller replacement

This is how I changed my impeller on my 07 Avy walk through. Mercruiser 330 black scorpion. My boat was purchased in June of this year, 190 hrs. My experience with boats is NEVER leave your boat engine at risk of meltdown from a failed raw water impeller. The cost for exhaust hoses, head gaskets, cylinder heads or even a destroyed rotating assembly are to great compared to the impeller.

You cannot be lazy in this area. Change it or get it changed if you don't KNOW when it was last done.

If there is already instructions on replacement on the site just disregard this. Also if I left anything out feel free to correct me. I'm not a mercruiser mechanic.

Here goes. I first disconnected the 2 rams holding the engine hatch, swing it toward rear and prop it with something to keep from stressing hinges. They will stay hooked up.post-5220-0-33023500-1373057348_thumb.jpg

My boat has sideswipe exhaust and the factory ballast tank is removed. My 1100lb fat sac now lives in this spot! I'm not sure if you can do it this way with the tank in place. It's easy to remove so just pull it out if its in the way. Then remove the grey piece that divides the engine compartment from the storage locker.

Now I removed my fuel water separator. 2 nuts, don't drop them or the spacers. Now you can see the pump.post-5220-0-55181900-1373057978_thumb.jpg

Loosen serpentine belt idler on top, get the belt out of your way. Remember how it is arranged on the pulleys. My boat has a diagram on the coolant housing.

Now remove raw water pump inlet and outlet hose. post-5220-0-43927500-1373058226_thumb.jpg

This is what I looked like in the boat, I'm big so this was fun..post-5220-0-13667900-1373058374_thumb.jpg

Now there is one bolt and one nut on a stud holding the pump, 9/16" take those out and it's free.post-5220-0-10549400-1373058489_thumb.jpg