Wake it Up!    1

I have recently purchased a 2005 Avlanche C4 and I'm new to the whole V-Drive system. My last boat was an inboard/outboard. Anyway, today while pulling some tubers, it was probably 95 degrees outside with 90 degree water on the surface. When all the sudden, the warning horn went BEEP....BEEP, then there was silence for a few minutes, then BEEP...BEEP again. The water temp is normal, oil pressure is fine, both at idle and higher RPMS, Volts seem a little low at 12.5 ish, and fuel qty is fine. Vdrive light goes out like it is supposed to, and all fluids are good. I pulled the boat out of the water, didnt want to chance it. Does anyone know what this might be? Could my alternator be going? Any ideas? Thanks again.

islander033    2

welcome to the site and post up your ride!

Your volts do seem a bit low.....Were your battery(s) fully charged prior to hitting the water? Do you have a volt meter that you can check the voltage right at the alternator?

Do you have a depth gauge with alarms set on it?

RVR-RAT    269

Welcome to the site . Did you try to run the boat and notice if there was a loss of power or were not able to get up to speed, if so your impeller is bad and is not creating enough suction your warning horn will go off and basically sound warning or shut down high rpm to protect the the engine from overheating . Do you have any idea when the impeller has been changed.

Bigcatpt    408

Like Rvr rat said.... first make sure your impeller is ok. Overheating is bad juju...

Wake it Up!    1
welcome to the site and post up your ride!

Your volts do seem a bit low.....Were your battery(s) fully charged prior to hitting the water? Do you have a volt meter that you can check the voltage right at the alternator?

Do you have a depth gauge with alarms set on it?