N901

2006 Avalanche C4

N901    4

Hi All,

When I purchased this boat in the fall the previous owner indicated that the PerfectPass only seems to like sunny days and fades in and out at times. Seems to be a common problem. Anyway, PerfectPass recommended I replace the gauge and upgrade to the GPS star gazer edition kit. Seems like roughly an $800 upgrade. Would you guys recommend this? I'm brand new to these boats. I know it doesn't have a "monster" wave but the previous owner surfed it and I figured it would be a good boat to get my kids into surfing. I'm sure there are ways I can make the wave larger by adding weight. Any thoughts on the gauge or adding weight/upgrades would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Troy    234

An Avy can throw an awesome wave. Make sure the connections are good on the PP. 

Are you planning on listing the boat, a suck gate or tabs? I list mine and love my wave. Others like the suckgate (fuel hog) and others like adding tabs. If you have to swap sides alot, I recommend the infinity tabs. If you ride the same side all the time, list it and save the $$$. 

For my listed wave I do the factory center, 1500lb custom sac and about another 200-300 lbs on the seat. the wave is tall, long and has good push. Just a driver maybe a kid or 2. I also have a custom a-plate. Since we only surf goofy, my whole system is designed for that side. I've done write ups on here about my ballast system and plate. 

Welcome to the Crew!!!!

• Like 1

N901    4

Hi Troy, 

Thanks for the feedback. I assume by list it you mean lean to one side? That’s what I would plan on doing so I’ll look at your write ups. This boat still has the factory tanks and I was looking at sacks. Maybe I’ll start with some of those lead bags to add weight to start. I’ll have to research what an a-plate is. The previous owner gave me this huge anchor shaped plate that came with the boat but he said he never used it as it messed with handling. 

thanks again!!

Troy    234