wakedadof4    0

Hey everyone, 

I'm new to the "crew" but I'm excited to get some thoughts. I'm putting in an order for an Fi23 (yes, I'm unbelievably excited!) We will be primarily surfing, but will definitely do some wakeboarding too. So I've added the essentials like QuickSurf, RAMFILL, Silent Stinger, and p-n-p, but I'm wondering about CATS. With the new hull design I'm wondering how much impact CATS will have and if I'll regret not having it.

I know that there's not a ton of experience with the new hull design but I'd love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks in advance!

lovetosurf    48

Congrats & welcome! Coming from a 2015 FS33 I was all about CATS because of the dramatic effect it had on that boat. Things have changed with the new hulls, they are very well balanced and after demoing 2 Fi23’s and an ‘18 237, we confidentaly ordered ours without CATS. 

You've probably seen Boardco’s video on the Fi23’s crossover appeal: 

I got to demo that same boat about 30 minutes after they shot the video and was blown away with how clean the wakes and waves were without CATS.

My opinion is that the new hulls just don’t need it anymore unless you’d really like that extra level of fine tuning. JMTC.

Edited by lovetosurf

RhuntIII    555

CATS on a 2014 SV233 with no surf flappers (Quick Surf.) For surfing I run my boat listed and once I start tuning the CATS the boat will crab crawl cleaning up the wave, very similar to the effect of deploying a surf flapper. Listed the 233 is not uncomfortable to ride in. While running the boat with no weight the CATS work very similar to traditional trim tabs, the slightest adjustment you can trim the boat to ride level on the water and I really like that.