Wakeballast

Getting a ri257 next week

Wakeballast    12

Sorry for being a newbie, I just traded my axis t23 and ordered an RI257 getting it next week.

would love some pointers on setting up my centurion ballast wise for the optimum longest wave. I'm planning on adding 20 50lbs bags or 1000lbs extra ballast. I should mention I'm the owner of wakeballast so adding bags is easy for me. 

Let me know how should I set the weights around the boat

IMG_3718.PNG

• Like 1

Cwazy1    89

Just be careful to not hydrolock your engine if you've got the silent stinger and have that much lead weight in there

• Like 1

InfinitySurf    302

There are some members on here that have posted up how they set up their RI257...badass boat with an incredible wave. If you type "ri257" in the search bar at top right....it will pull up some of the threads. Like Cwazy1 said....be careful maxing ballast, simply cause a couple hydrolock issues have happened, probably due to how low engine is mounted and water backflowing thru exhaust risers when a ton of ballast is on board. Sounds like a couple simple things you can do tho to avoid problems, check out the threads.

• Like 1

carguy79ta    67

sounds Awesome!  I'm sure you will love it.  if you scroll down thru 2 pages of this forum you will find what you are looking for.  in particular Darksides thread '257 tips and suggestions' has ballast and settings info.

• Like 1

Bawshogg    77

I posted on your IG account, I have found that honestly the boat does NOT need much weight at all. In stock configuration I feel like 600-800 lbs is ideal if you run a small crew. I've tried up to 2klbs in WAKEBALLAST bags and the results are dwindling returns.... All that weight..more fuel usage...longer times to plain...and you have to tow it around for really minuscule differences in the wave size/length and feel. Kinda diminishing returns