MobEnzo

Stereo Upgrade

MobEnzo    51

I know another stereo upgrad thread, but I'm a bit of a newbie at this and have questions...

First off, I'm primarily planning to upgrade the tower speakers so that we can hear them behind the boat surfing. I'd also like to add a dedicated battery for the stereo. We surf 95% of the time and just hang out on the boat or tied up. I don't need a crazy loud system. Sounds like Rev10s are the way to go (that's the easy part).

What exactly am I getting myself into? :guitar:

My current setup is no amp or sub - Kicker in boats and Skylon tower speakers. Overall I think the system sounds fine - it's not bumping bass, but it's enough. I like quality sound, but I'm not an audiophile... I'm not planning on adding a sub but would like the zone control that the 420 offers. Currently, we have super loud bow and can't hear the towers when behind the boat.

On to the questions and my findings thus far.

1. Add a 2nd battery, I know I need Blue Sea Switch like this? What else is involved hear from a wiring standpoint? I assume I need to move the stereo power source to the new battery? I've never had dual batteries so any advice on setup/charging/etc. would be great.
  2. Pair of Rev 10s on the tower. Will my current speaker mounts work, or should I plan on the X mount for Evolution tower. It looks like I can't order without a mount selected so I may have answered that... They're also on back order.
  3. Amp or Amps? I read on a more recent thread that the HTX4 would do nice for the Rev 10s? Do I need one, or a bigger one, for the in boats if I want the 420 zone control?
  4. 420, seems straight-forward, but question above about amp for in boats above.
  5. Should I redo any of the tower speaker wiring? It currently seems a little screwy with literal speaker wire coiled up in the base of the tower.
  6. Is there specific marine wiring I should be using for Blue Sea, Amp/s, and 420?

Sorry that's A LOT of questions, I appreciate the help!