stoked

Winterizing PCM 409

stoked    1,039

I did the dirty deed today. We have no time left to get out, so time to put the boat away and dig out the surfboards as the storms will be coming up the east coast soon.

I'm a big fan of doing as much of my own work as possible on my boat, it's the best way to get to know it, since I'm new to the PCM 409 and couldn't find a DIY guide, I figured I'd post one here from the information I gathered from the manual, mainly so I can follow it again next time. This is for a 2015 FS33, but it should be similar for other boats with the 409.

First the parts I ordered per the winterizing instructions in my manual:

Fuel Filter Element PCM RP080026: http://www.bakesonline.com/detail.aspx?ID=744
Piece of Mind (We live on a brackish bay with some salt in the air): http://www.bakesonline.com/detail.aspx?ID=1627
Stabil
5 quarts of SAE 15W-40 (I went with Rotella from the local marine supply)
5 gallons of antifreeze
I also have, but not necessary to the process:
Electric oil extractor (I had a hand pump last year, ain't doing that again...): http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001CX0WX4?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00
Kevlar Sleeves, if you've never worked around a boat motor before, you want these, there are sharp clamps everywhere and you'll slice up your forearms: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0035X8L96
First thing I did was dump in 7 ounces of StaBil, that way when I run it later it can work through the system. I then removed the PnP bags, the shelves, and the engine walls to give myself some more room to maneuver.
Next I did the fuel filter, this guy:
671cEIh.jpg
Using a strap wrench I got him lose, it came off very easy and the new one went on just as easy. I used the T-9 on the rubber seal before putting on the new one. One thing to note, I hadn't run the boat in 2 weeks so I didn't need to relieve pressure in the fuel line. If you just ran it, slowly unscrew the filter.