Nate2215    25

I am brand new to surfing, I think I need some help.

We are trying to surf around 10 mph, I have tried it multiple different ways, mostly just filling the port side ballast totally full including the PNP and trying to add a bit of weight to the other side. The wake looks big, and from what I can tell it looks like all the videos I watch on YouTube.

We can all get up no problem but we are having great difficulty letting go of the rope. I can usually get the wave to push me a little bit and the rope goes slack, but only for about 10 seconds then I lose it. I'm just not sure if it's a wake thing, a speed thing, or just a lack of skills thing

Thanks!

Edited by Nate2215

Stretch    409

Maybe a little more speed? I think a lot is just getting used to it. That feeling is how I felt the day before I went rope less. Just keep going back to that slack, it starts lasting longer and longer :)

• Like 1

NW Boat Sports    232

I am brand new to surfing, I think I need some help.

We are trying to surf around 10 mph, I have tried it multiple different ways, mostly just filling the port side ballast totally full including the PNP and trying to add a bit of weight to the other side. The wake looks big, and from what I can tell it looks like all the videos I watch on YouTube.

We can all get up no problem but we are having great difficulty letting go of the rope. I can usually get the wave to push me a little bit and the rope goes slack, but only for about 10 seconds then I lose it. I'm just not sure if it's a wake thing, a speed thing, or just a lack of skills thing

Thanks!

That's how we all started. Post a video showing your wave and we can critique the wave, speed, etc. but it sounds like you are on the right track!

• Like 1

viking    491

go a little faster and add a little more bow weight to lengthen the pocket but I'd say you have the growing pains of learning and keep it up and won't be long you'll be ropeless!

DrNate    426