I'm new here, so forgive me if this has already been discussed: has anyone tried to install a quickfill-type system on an older boat? I have a 2008 enzo and the kids and wife were getting antsy while we filled today. Is this feasible?

chadr    328

Yes. Currently working on mine! I will find the post!

Here it is!

Ballast Build - 2008 Enzo SV 240 - It Begins http://www.centurioncrew.com/index.php?/topic/9914-Ballast-Build---2008-Enzo-SV-240---It-Begins

Probably not quick fill but quicker fill! What does your system have in it?

Edited by chadr

I read through your build post today - pretty cool!

I have a jabsco impeller pump fill system. I have 2 spare pumps that I was considering adding to speed things up, but then I noticed some of the other threads on the RV-style power actuated valves, which I assume are the basis for the quickfill systems. Those systems are pumpless, correct?

How big an effort would it be to swap out my pumps for these valves on the fill side of the bags? Could I install a scupper fitting on the bottom of the boat - similar to the cooling intake for the engine and then install the rv-style power actuated valve just downstream of the scupper? Would that allow that system to fill while underway? Is that how the 2011 - 2013 quickfill systems work?

I would assume that I would need to upsize the plumbing into the bags, at a minimum.

I haven't been able to locate much information on the 2011 - 2013 (or whatever the exact years are) quickfill system (pre "ramfill"), though I haven't spent a lot of time looking yet...

Am I barking up the wrong tree here?

DarksideR    1,679

Welcome to the Wild West of ballast imagination! You've got plenty of great questions and ideas. I'll try to edumacate you on what's what in the current world of reality. Lol